A Luciferian amongst the Pagans: Hexfest 2015

herologoI write about a number subjects on this blog, It’s not all Demons and virgin sacrifice (such a hard ritual to pull off in the days of Tinder and 4chan),I have readers from the Pagan community, even a wiccan or two who stop be and say hello. So gentle reader, it was no surprise when I was approached by a local witch to  Moderate a Panel at Hexfest, a modest sized convention for Witches, rootworkers, Voodoo priests and other magical teachers, to meet and greet the fans, sell books, and teach classes.I was only there for the last day, so my experience was quite limited with what goes on a such affairs, I was hoping to see a few SACERDOTES extra Romam, or even the Vestal Virgins (Vestales) and Flaminicae, (wives of the flamens ) to tell me what I bad boy I’ve been.But alas, no luck.I did meet a few interesting folks and Occult Personalities, a few of witch ( sorry, Just couldn’t help myself) truly seemed to know their subject matter quite well.Christopher Penczak, whom I remember from the Temple of Witchcraft series of books he penned in 2002-04 ,was quite down to earth and personable.His comments and answers for the Panel (called, Ritual Possession: Inviting the Gods and Spirits Within) came from a place of his own experience,and as he told us himself “I have the least amount of experience with this subject, but I think Cristian Day just threw me in here because he had no idea what to do with me.” And I for one am quite glad he did so.

11934939_935459143159669_2459291776602530074_n

 

Now, I know what you must be thinking ” Vincent, what are you doing?!?! Luciferian, Goetia Heretic, LHP Taoist Renegade, why are you hanging out with a bunch of Pagans? Even, Gasp! a few RHP, Drawing Down the Moon types who would run at the thought of the Qlippoth.” Well,  the terms ‘Pagan’ and ‘Luciferian’ are not as far apart as it may seem at face value. While Lucifer is a patron of mine, he isn’t the only deity i’ve worked with, and to be honest I’ve done far more work with Lilith and Belzebuth.When going to an event like this, its much easier to say that I’m pagan, because let’s face it,If A Satanist Or Luciferian Defines Themselves As Pagan, Then They’re Pagan. Luciferianism is a living philosophy that values and honors the dynamic principles essential to the characteristics of Lucifer. The name Lucifer can be translated as “Light Bearer”, lux=light and fero= to bear. Lucifer also denotes Venus, as the morning and evening star. Under this definition, I’m a pagan who bears light and works with Venus, the goddess of love (oh won’t my mom be proud)Pagan is a very very broad term. And, believe it or not, you can be a Christian pagan as well. Surprise! You don’t get to define the term pagan. If you don’t like it,Tough titty said the kitty.  I embrace my fellow aware pagans, the Crazy Anti-Cosmic Void Magi, my fellow pagans that follow Satan or Lucifer(or in the case of the TST, don’t ),even the Pastafarians ( “R’amen) and all who reject dogma and formalism . I reject the pagans that say Satanism or Luciferianism can’t be pagan.  The stigma attached to that term is far more negative and far-reaching than ‘pagan’, because even non-christians think of the biblical devil when the name Lucifer is mentioned. In pagan communities, however, at times we find ourselves almost equally as ostracized. In their attempts to make paganism more acceptable to the public or innocent, many make statements such as ‘pagans don’t believe in or worship the devil/satan/lucifer’, trying to separate the public’s concepts of satanism and paganism.But as an unnamed Author said to to me at Hexfest “I’m a Closet Luciferian.”I believe this is more often the case, then not.

Moving on to the Fest and Panel, Lilith Dorsey,a Voodoo Priestess and editor/publisher of Oshun-African Magickal Quarterly,was quite enjoyable as well. We immediately connected with our Anthropology backgrounds, and she helped me out in a pinch during the panel when one of my Questions wasn’t translating well to a more Pagan format.The stories of her eating Dirt during possession wowed the crowd, and her knowledge was quite extensive when it came to the practical aspects of Ritual Possession.

11899876_935485683157015_8716249490881697321_n

Bloody Mary and Sandra Mariah Wright gave the Witch/mambo asogwe and High Priestess’s take on the subject of Ritual Possession, and from my seat did a fine job of it.To be given an interpretation of how the Alexandrian Tradition of Witchcraft sees Becoming the Goddess was a real treat for the audience, and Bloody Mary’s down to earth swamp magic stories were quite refreshing.

1956949_10152587155827600_5764675074798948614_o11698548_10153442160792288_7599432789713297468_n

Steven Bragg, a Santa Muertero,and a devotee and spiritual worker of the Mexican folk saint La Santisima Muerte, gave a fascinating account of being ridden by the Loa and the preparation of objects used in his practice of Haitian Vodou and Palo Mayombe.He formed the New Orleans Chapel of the Santisima Muerte, a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting information about la Santisima Muerte,this is quite interesting to me from a writer’s standpoint and I plan to visit the public shrine for this saint quite soon (and yes, a write up on it is forthcoming, I promise)

30809_401175463802_5887981_n

All of the Panelists did an excellent job, the subject matter was well covered, and they made my job very easy ( I didn’t have to take out the whip, or drop the Hat once) and for this I am extremely grateful.I attended Raven and Stephanie Grimassi’s talk on Greenwood Magic and learned a few things about herbs and the spirit of the mandrake plant that I did not know previously.I had a blast gently heckling Raven about his “Chaos Magick” methods of using the mortar & pestle for magic,but he was a good sport about it.I also spent some time talking with Judika Illes,The author of such books as The Encyclopedia of 5000 Spells (2004); The Element Encyclopedia of Witchcraft (2005) and one of my favorites, The Encyclopedia of Spirits (2009).One of her newest works and The Encyclopedia of Mystics, Saints, and Sages, is going on my must read list, just from the stories she told me of her inspiration to Interview Cabbies about what Saint they use to protect them on the daily drive.

11326_633514900100548_1765969382611935626_n11902253_508162849334752_4098171904502942973_n

This Luciferian had a great time doing it, and hope to be asked back again in the future. Thank you everyone for making me feel welcome and comfortable at the Fest,Ty Siddiqui did a Bang-up job making sure that everything ran smoothly, and Hex-Fest could have never gone on in such a successful way without her.Stay Gold everyone, and don’t forget your Hat….

 

If you would like to know more about the authors I’ve spoken about here, a number of Website Links are provided below.

Christopher Penczak=christopherpenczak.com

Lilith Dorsey=blackbrigit.com

Bloody Mary=bloodymarystours.com

Sandra Mariah Wright=https://www.facebook.com/SalemWitch

Steven Bragg=https://www.facebook.com/HouganSenJosef

Raven and Stephanie Grimassi=ravengrimassi.net

Judika Illes=judikailles.com

Review by: Vincent Piazza Copyright 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Luciferian amongst the Pagans: Hexfest 2015 was originally published on The Hidden Left Hand

Leave a Reply

