Horror Magick part 2: The Evocation of Pinhead

 

 

“Its voice, unlike that of its companion, was light and breathy-the voice of an excited girl. Every inch of its head had been tattooed with an intricate grid, and at every intersection of horizontal and vertical axes a jeweled pin driven through to the bone. Its tongue was similarly decorated.”

— The Hellbound Heart, Clive Barker, ch. 1

 

 

As I’ve said in part one of this blog series,  In its current form, the horror film itself is the perfect breeding ground for creation of ready-made thought forms and egregores preprogrammed with abilities and skills that would put any Goetic King to shame. Putting it another way, monsters are not just for horror films anymore, so why waste such a valuable resource? So, I’ve decided to put it to the test and write an Evocation of Pinhead, the main hell priest and cenobite of Clive Barker’s novella “The Hellbound Heart”. Made famous by the Hellraiser movies, It was originally published in November 1986 by Dark Harvest in the third volume of their Night Visions anthology series, but was re-released as a stand-alone title by Harper Collins in 1988 after the success of the movie, along with an audiobook recorded by Clive Barker and published by Audioworks.

 

This Mythos of Pop Culture has endured to this day and has quite a strong fan base, with comics and tee-shirts, new stories and another sequel in the works. I felt he was the perfect Horror egregore for my first test of the system. He is also talkative, and this is quite a good thing as I believe a calling of Jason or Michael would be much harder to work out when it came to the evocation proper, and no one wants Freddy in the house for any length of time, at least not the same place that you wish to sleep.

 

For those of you who haven’t read the story or have not seen the film (the 1% of those who read my blog ),The story focuses on a Puzzle Box (Lament Configuration) and the horror it wreaks on a family which is unfortunate enough to come across it. Pinhead (his real name was Elliott Spencer) was born Elliot Spencer and opened the Lament Configuration after becoming disenchanted with human life from his service in World War I. Like the other Cenobites, he lost all memory of his human identity following the transformation and serves the deity Leviathan by abducting others who solve the Lament Configuration and torture them in a labyrinth realm called Hell. In the Hellbound Heart we find Frank, a nihilist and selfish moral degenerate who has participated in every hedonistic pleasure, extreme experience and sexual perversion known to man, each time seeking a greater pleasure higher than the last. Jaded, Frank hears rumor of a mysterious puzzle box (the Lament Configuration) which opens the gateway to a realm of unfathomable carnal pleasures. Frank tracks down the current owner of the box in Düsseldorf and obtains it through performing “small favors”.

 

Frank manages to solve the puzzle while squatting in the attic of his grandparents’ house, where he has set up an elaborate display of flowers and a jug of his own urine. A gateway opens and appearing from it are the Cenobites, Lead by Pinhead, a race of distorted creatures who practice an extreme form of sadomasochism centered around agonizing torture and mutilation. They see little difference between extreme pleasure and extreme pain and drag Frank, willingly at first, into their extradimensional realm, where Frank begins what he realizes too late will be an eternity of torture.

 

If you wish to read the whole story, you can find it here http://www.amazon.com/The-Hellbound-Heart-A-Novel/dp/0061452882, and if you plan on repeating this experiment, I suggest you do read it, at the very least. On to the Ritual…

 

Note: while this Ritual is called “The Evocation of Pinhead” the Hell Priest despises that name so it will only be used once in the Evocation (see below) if you succeed in this rite, I would suggest you refer to him as Hell Priest or Cenobite. You may also call him Mr. Spencer, but he will be quick to inform you that is no longer his name.

Supplies:

Myrrh and Musk (Tears and Passion) Charcoal and an Incense burner

A Low table that you can sit in front of cross legged ( Lotus or Half is preferred, indian or tailor style will work if you can’t) Have the table face North.

A bunch of flowers (some wilted, some fresh) a jug, jar or cup of your own urine. Place the flower to the left of the burner, the jug to the right.

6 candles, two burning behind you, two on either side of you, two placed on the table behind the burner.

Something to cause you pain and draw blood with (Razor, Knife, Pin)

A Chain and a Hook, placed before the burner.

A Small Wooden Box with six sides, you will hold this throughout the ritual

I started with a calling of Leviathan while doing so I visualized a large Sea serpent coiling about me, creating a circle.Did a Microcosmic Orbit 6 times and pushed my Aura out from my Tan T’ien to the edge of the serpent.

 

I then Began this Evocation:

“I call to thee, Elliott Spencer, Known to the Worms of this realm as Pinhead. I conjure thee, Great and Terrible Hell Priest, in the name of your creator, Clive Barker, to walk into this circle of Leviathan and appear before me. Heed my call and come now, oh Master of Pain, Cenobite, reside in the Pit no longer (at this time, stroke the box with your fingers, turn it over and over in your hands and see it in your mind’s eye start to glow and open). Hell Priest, I have completed  the task you have set before me, the puzzle is solved, pleasure and pain indivisible shall be the state of this chamber. I wish to see the sights you have to show me. ( Then say the following call six times, once for each side of the box)”Cenobite come to me, Hell Priest come to me, Elliott Spencer come to me, in the name of Clive Barker, your creator, I call to thee.”

 

If he has not shown himself after the six calls, you may do another set of six, but I would suggest no more then that. When and if he comes, be very respectful as if dealing with the most arrogant of kings. I had a conversation with him about the nature of Pleasure and Pain, and I suggest that you do the same to gain insight into this eggagore before asking for anything from him. I then Cut myself with my straight razor and offered some of my blood into the burner for payment, I strongly suggest you do the same with whatever implement you have at hand, for in the lore the cenobites never leave without drawing blood and causing pain first. I then asked him politely to return to hell, he seemed satisfied and quickly did so( interesting note, he flickered in and when he left he blinked out, like a cathode tube television turning off.)

 

I then thanked Leviathan, dissolved the circle, and pulled my Aura back into my Tan T’ien, cycled the Microcosmic orbit and stored the Qi in my Tan T’ien. I accept no responsibility for the mental state of anyone who tries to repeat this ritual.This stuff is experimental and I have no idea what the side effects may be, if any. If you do so, my only suggestion is that you find out all you can about the lore of the Hellraiser sub-universe. Watch all of the Movies (even the bad ones), read the Hellbound Heart and the Scarlet Gospels as well for a deeper understanding of what you are dealing with, before you proceed.

All Art and Writing Copyright 2015- Vincent Piazza

Stay Gold everyone….

 

Horror Magick part 2: The Evocation of Pinhead was originally published on The Hidden Left Hand

Leave a Reply

